Community Calls

For the benefit of the Heritrix-using web harvesting community, and also as a forum for the participants in the Int'l Internet Preservation Consortium's Harvesting Working Group, we plan to hold a series of open-to-the-community conference calls about Heritrix and common harvesting issues.

The plan is to have calls at least after each major Heritrix release, and possibly more often, if the interest is there. We will also try to have calls in pairs, so that there are times convenient for both European and Pacific timezones.

The first call will occur via a 'Skypecast', at the following time:

Wednesday May 28th at 1500GMT, which is:

  • 8a San Francisco
  • 11a WashingtonDC
  • 4p London

The call will open with a brief overview of what's new in the latest Heritrix releases (1.14.0 and 2.0.0), and some of the priorities for future releases. Then, it will be an open discussion of whatever participants want to talk about.

Participating in the Skypecast only requires a current version of Skype to participate, and accommodates up to 100 participants (with facilities for the moderator to rotate people into speaking positions).

For now, we will try to use 'Skypecast', which only requires a current version of Skype to participate, and accommodates up to 100 participants.

The first conference is joinable via the Skypecast site at https://skypecasts.skype.com/skypecasts/skypecast/detailed.html?id_talk=4439489&hash=3146927137f424b425b2 .

(Future call scheduling, at a time convenient for other time zones, is pending feedback and results from this first call.)